The Food Crops Directorate is a new Directorate established in August 2014 pursuant to section 11 of AFFA Act 2013,with a mandate to regulate all the scheduled food crops which are broadly categorized into three;

  1. Cereals
  2. Legumes
  3. Roots and Tubers.

The Directorate has developed draft Crops (Food crops) Regulations 2015. Upon gazettement of the regulations, the Directorate shall facilitate the following broad areas for regulation in consultation with County Governments